Skip to main content

About us


One central mission: working towards European integration and sustainable development through regional cooperation.

The Central European Initiative (CEI) is a regional intergovernmental forum established in 1989, following the fall of the Berlin wall. It gathers 17 Member States* in Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe.

It supports a united Europe with shared values embracing all countries, regions, peoples and citizens; and fosters the strengthening of capacities of its Member States towards good governance, rule of law and sustainable economic development for stability, social cohesion, environmental sustainability, security and prosperity.

  • A platform for political dialogue through a pillar system;
  • A resource for people, businesses and communities through a strong, result-oriented and multi-partnership approach.

Pillar system

The CEI operates in a flexible and demand-driven manner to promote cooperation at institutional level through its Governmental, Parliamentary, Economic and Local Dimensions as well as through strategic partnerships.

Funds and instruments

Cooperation is also carried out at project level through its funds (Cooperation Fund; CEI Fund at the EBRD), programmes (Know-how Exchange Programnme; Technical Cooperation Programme), as well as design and management of projects supporting regional partnerships.Thanks to these instruments the CEI is able to fully implement the goals set in its three-year Plan of Action.

*Belarus suspended

Watch our video now!

Related Docs

Subscribe to CEI Newsletter

Keep up-to-date with the latest news and highlights from the Central European Initiative.