The CEI operates in a flexible manner to promote intergovernmental, inter-parliamentary and business cooperation.

 • Governmental Dimension: composed of the Committee of National Coordinators (CNC), responsible for the CEI cooperation; decisions are approved by the Ministers of Foreign Affairs and the Heads of Government. The annual rotating Presidency is held in turn by each of the 18 CEI Member States.

Parliamentary Dimension: CEI representatives of national Parliaments cooperate and meet in the framework of the Parliamentary Assembly, the Parliamentary Committee and the General Committees (on Political and Home Affairs; on Economic Affairs; on Cultural Affairs).

Business Dimension: promotes an active participation of the business communities of the CEI Member States in a bottom-up approach, fostering inputs, open discussions and recommendations for cooperation.