Skip to main content

Italy among 9 EU States not signing EU LGBT rights text

(ANSA) - ROME, MAY 17 - Italy was among nine EU countries that on Friday failed to sign a declaration for the promotion of European policies in favour of LGBT+ communities presented by the Belgian presidency to the EU member states. Not signing the declaration were Italy, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Lithuania, Latvia, the Czech Republic and Slovakia. The declaration had been prepared on the occasion of the World Day Against Homophobia, Transphobia and Biphobia. Italy, on 7 May, had joined the declaration against Homophobia, Transphobia, Biphobia of the EU External Action Service and the 27. (ANSA).